Jealousy

Jealousy–what a vile and purtid word! Dictionary.com describes the word “jealous” as “feeling resentment against someone because of that person’s rivalry, success, or advantages”.  Other words with a similar meaning include: grudge, intolerant, and so on.

For the longest time, I thought I was never jealous. I only wanted things was never hurt whenever another person got it. But I never wanted anyone to suffer for it. Until I met “Lora”. Lora had everything I could ever want. She had a great family, wonderful personality, a great love for God, a gift for serving and hospitality and patience and reaching out and singing and playing the piano and on and on it went.

And then, she began to step on to my territory, my realm of knowledge. I began to become jealous of her. Lora was as sweet as they got. I found myself struggling whenever I was around her because I saw myself as so much lower than her and because she would always get the things that I wanted. Not once did Lora know how much I envied her. Resentment built up in me.

“But God, why?” I asked pleadingly. And then I knew. I had begun to become proud. I thought that I deserved what she had, and she didn’t.

When we see others being blessed in the way we wish to be, it’s easy to become jealous. So how in the world do we handle such a difficult feeling?

Love and Bless
Love is perhaps the most difficult thing to do. I’m not talking affection here. No, I’m talking about a 1 Corinthians 13 kind of love. “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

When we are jealous of another, we should love God and love the person we are jealous of. We should bless them instead of allowing our jealousy and maybe even dissent towards the person who has what we desire to overcome us. It’s not easy to remember God’s goodness when we feel discontent. I certainly know! But:

{{Philippians 4:13}}
I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

We can do all things through Him. Even conquer jealousy.

Love,

Bethany

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

