Patience

I hate to wait. Who doesn’t? Who really wants to wait minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, years, decades, or centuries for the one thing they’ve been looking forward to? Not me. Uh-uh, no way.

But usually, God says otherwise.

In a generation of convenience, we become continually shocked at the amount of time we spend waiting. Whether it is for food in a restraunt or a man in our love lives, we want it, and we want it now. For me, I am waiting for a number of things from God: a new church, direction for the future, and a husband. I woke up this morning with the last bit clear in my mind. Yet only could I pray, “Help me to be patient!”

Psalm 27:14
Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage;wait for the LORD!

Psalm 37:34
Wait for the LORD and keep his way,and he will exalt you to inherit the land;you will look on when the wicked are cut off.

Psalm 39:7
And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you.

Psalm 130:5
I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,and in his word I hope;

Isaiah 40:30-31
Even youths shall faint and be weary,
   and young men shall fall exhausted;
but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength;
   they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
   they shall walk and not faint.

Micah 7:7
But as for me, I will look to the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation;my God will hear me.

So from these verses, we can learn the following:

  • Look to the Lord in all things
  • Wait for the Lord to work as He pleases
  • Trust Him and that His plan is good and wise and righteous
  • Remember that God hears our prayers
  • Remember that He is our salvation
  • Remember that our hope is in Him
  • Let your heart take courage in the Lord.

~Bethany

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Patience”

  1. Anna Lofgren Says:

    Great post! Waiting has been a big thing for me to learn as well. This year in Bible reading I’m reading through the Bible and writing down verses relating to purity, waiting, and trust. It’s been so encouraging already!

  2. Maria Pauline Says:

    (cough, cough) I love waiting!

    Err… When it comes to schoolwork and college, I really like planning. Marriage I am content to wait for right now.

    The main thing I am waiting for is more independence. In a lot of ways my family holds me back from embracing fully skirts and other convictions I have. I am waiting for next fall when I will be 16 and can work and drive. I will be able to buy material to sew with! :D

    Thanks for reminding me to be patient.

Leave a Reply

