Is there Something Greater?

I was browsing the web today when I came upon C.J. Mahaney’s post on the Super Bowl. Within this excellent post, I found the following quote by Tom Brady, quarterback of three Super Bowl championships:

Why do I have three Super Bowl rings and still think there’s something greater out there for me? I mean, maybe a lot of people would say, ‘Hey man, this is what is.’ I reached my goal, my dream, my life. I think, ‘God, it’s got to be more than this.’ I mean this isn’t, this can’t be, what it’s all cracked up to be.

Wow. Friends, when we stand before God to be judged, all of our awards, our superb popularity, our money, great marriage, talent, collections, all we had done on earth, means nothing. I once heard a missionary say something like this: We must always look at things in the light of eternity. It is fine to value and love things. But not to the extent that it means everything to us, that it is what we live for and would even die for. If anything is being put before God, you are not living for Him alone.

I struggle with this every day, from the moment I awaken to the moment I fall asleep. I am constantly battling against my priorities.

What about you? What do you live for?

Leave a Reply

