Preparing our Minds for Sleep

As you can read, the title for this post is “Preparing our Minds for Sleep”. By this I do not mean “meditate and breath deeply, while standing in an odd position”. No, I mean getting our minds and hearts ready for the period of time before we fall into sleep.

Bethany and I were talking about this the other day. She was saying what strange and bad dreams she has had in the last few years; and I definitly could relate. For me I generally dream about what I want or the exact opposite of what I want! If I want to marry someone; my dreams generally reflect that. If I want to yell and be angry at someone; they reflect that too. Its something I’ve noticed particularly these past few months.

Anyway, I thought I would write about how I prepare myself to go to sleep.

First, I spend time memorizing Scripture; using the process I spoke of yesterday. Nothing is more powerful than the Word of God. I also found that dividing my devotions up- doing part at night and part in the morning- has helped me to think more upon the Lord.

Secondly, I read a chapter in a good Christian book. As much as I love mysteries and romantic tales; those are not the best for me to feed on right before sleeping. Currently I am reading “When I Don’t Desire God” by John Piper. I have only a chapter left in that; so I plan to start either “Trusting God” by Jerry Bridges or maybe try my hand at “Knowing God” by Packer.

Thirdly, I pray. In the mornings I use my prayer journal to pray for myself, to thank the Lord, to confess sins, and to pray for close friends or other requests weighing on my heart. At night, however, I first read a prayer from The Valley of Vision. This book has been immensely helpful to me in my spiritual life; and it helps me to approach the throne of God in a more reverent manner. Than, I pray for each member of my family; which is one of my New Years Resolutions. Lastly, I try to thank God for an attribute of His that has been very apparent to me.

If I have trouble falling asleep (generally because of caffine- which is why I am on a two week Starbucks fast!) I listen to praise and worship songs on my iPod.

I have tried different variations on this general routine in the past; but have found that this one works best for me. I used to write down 5 Daily Blessings, but have gotten out of the habit. It something I would like to start doing again.

How about you? What routines do you have to end the day?

Leave a Reply

