Works For Me Wednesday

I found the most useful way to memorize verses- at least for me its the most useful way. Its simple! I found this method in “When I Don’t Desire God” by John Piper. I’m memorizing the book of James- but this method can work with any number of verses. Basically, first you read verse one ten times, and really read and focus on each word. Than you say the verse ten times. (The man who invented this reccomends also including the verse number; just as a preference I don’t) Your done for the day!

The next day you would recite yesterdays verse ten times. Than you would repeat the same method for verse two. (Read 10 times, recite 10 times)

The third day you would recite yesterday’s verse 10 times, as well as verses 1-2 once. You would then repeat the same method for verse 3. (Read 10 times, recite 10 times).

The fourth day you recite yesterday’s verse 10 times, and than verses 1-3 all together one time. You would then read verse 4 10 times and recite 10 times.

An on and on it goes!

Honestly, this is one of the best memorization processes I have ever used. Its simple; and I’m not usually very good at reciting verses without some sort of prompt. So far I have memorized James 3:6-10 this way, and I could recite them to you right now, with the Lord’s help. (I’m a bit shaky on the last verse.) I do my verse memorizing at night; right before I drift off to sleep- and its really been a nice way to end my day.

All in all, it works for me!

3 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday”

  1. amyswandering Says:

    I’m going to try this with my kids too. I love John Piper. We have this book, but I haven’t read it yet – sounds like I need to pull it out!

  2. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    It is really good!

    I definitly could have used this method back when I was in AWANA at our church.

  3. smkirklin Says:

    Thanks for the tip, my husband and I’ve been talking about memorizing along with our son who’s in AWANA

Leave a Reply

