It’s all fine and dandy but…

This week is a semi-busy week. For the next two days, all I am doing is Algebra and Biology. Don’t get me wrong– I love God’s creation and the way His creativity is shown throughout both subjects. But it doesn’t really… click.

I’m a creative thinker. I understand that which is logical and enjoy thinking of these things as puzzles. That’s the way I think. But my mind isn’t trained to understand the tiny little itty bitty bits of a chemical (chemistry in a biology book. Anyone care to explain?) or how many wonderful numbers and letters and signs and this and that can create 1 or more answers. Yes. I’m a right brained thinker (Fold you’re hands like your praying. Then look at which thumb is on the bottom. If it’s left, you’re a left brained logical thinker. If it’s right, you’re a right brained creative thinker).

As I was typing the first paragraph, I almost wrote something like, “My brain just doesn’t work that way!” But, God uses many things to humble. My minds quickly averted to this article written by one of the brothers. The following was the part which was the most convicting for me:

I constantly hear fellow young adults say things like, “You know, I did Algebra 1/2, but I’m just not a math person,” or “I’m a terrible speller, my brain just doesn’t work that way.” I’ve had other teens tell me, “I’m just a quiet person. I don’t like communicating much,” and “I’m such a compulsive shopper. If I see something I like I can’t help but buy it.” Or what about, “I’m just such a blonde!”

While I don’t doubt that many teens find math, spelling, communication, self-control and intelligence incredibly difficult, I find it very hard to accept that these difficulties should begin to define their personhood.

We would think it was crazy if a toddler said, “You know, I tried to get potty-trained, but I’m just not a toilet person.” But we sympathize with a fellow teenager who says that he’s “just not a people person.”

If a young child said, “I tried tying my own shoes, but my brain just doesn’t work that way,” we wouldn’t say, “That’s alright Johnny, we’ll just have someone else do it for you for the rest of your life.” But if we have trouble spelling we say, “It’s alright, I’ll just make sure I always use the spell checker.”

The fact is that as we get older we begin defining our limitations as what comes easily to us – and our rate of growth in competence and character slows and falters.

Wow. That hits the target with precision and grace.

I would like to do huge hard things. Hard things which require a team of people, resources, and so much more than that. But I’m realizing that the hard things I need to be tackling before I begin on the huge ones are actually the hardest of all. These hard things include striving for excellence in the schoolwork which is difficult, loving my family, and speaking with kindness towards all. These things come before and are more important than outergreatness. If I am not magnifying God in the biggest areas of my life (school, family, and friends) then no other accomplishment has any worth.

Keep on keeping on, my dear bakery girls.

Bethany

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “It’s all fine and dandy but…”

  1. Syd Says:

    Hi Bethany,

    I’ve been a stalker of “Something Greater” for a little while. I enjoyed this post a lot! I read that article by Alex and Brett a long time ago, but I’d forgotten about it’s contents. It was nice being reminded to not simply accept an excuse of “That’s my personality, I’m stuck with it, period.” especially in my own life. It reminds me to get out of my “little box” (referring to the song “Little Boxes”).

    Although, I’m confused. I think you made an error in your paragraph about being a “creative thinker.” The word “left” is used twice when you wrote: “I’m a right brained thinker (Fold you’re hands like you’re praying. Then look at which thumb is on the bottom. If it’s *left*, you’re a left brained logical thinker. If it’s *left*, you’re a right brained creative thinker).” Could you clarify, please? Also, which is the “bottom” thumb? Do you mean the thumb on the bottom of the other thumb or the thumb on the outside?

    Thanks…keep on keepin’ on for the glory of God! ;-)

    Shalom,

    Sydney :-) ;-) =)

  2. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    Thank you for notifying me about that mistake! This was written wayyyy too late at night. I’ll go fix it.

  3. Syd Says:

    Thanks Bethany! God Bless and vaya con Dios!

    Syd :-) ;-) =)

  4. Syd Says:

    Just thought I’d add something…I liked this little test, it turns out that I’m a “right brained creative thinker” and right-eyed, but I’m totally left-handed! I’m actually the only left-hander in my family! My piano teacher thought I was going to have all kinds of problems since I’m right everything else, but I write with my left. Therefore, I find taking tests like this fun.

    Shalom,

    Sydney :-) ;-) =)

  5. Bonnie Says:

    I really like that article you posted! It does make things clear! I really do agree that if we want to do hard things, first we must start with ourselves, and in our homes :-)

Leave a Reply

