Doing Hard Things- Natasha’s Way

First, I want to clarify Monday’s post. Please understand that post was written in moments of desperation and anger at my own sin. I see the laziness in my heart and I want to change. I want to be like Christ and do hard things as He did in dying on the cross for us. While I did mention several people who I see consistently doing hard things; I do understand that no one is perfect. We are all sinners and all in need of God’s grace every day. (Thank you for your note of encouragment, Anna. It brightened my outlook and was very helpful to me. :))

The title of this post is “Doing Hard Things- My Way” . I’m thinking about how I personally do hard things. Do I even do hard things? I do. But right now in my life, hard things are taking on a different form. I’m not involved in a ministry, at the moment. I’m not currently learning something very difficult for me, like I was last year at this time. (Last year right about now I was learning all about the joys of modesty, femininity, saving my heart for my future husband and other lifestyle changes). My hard things lately are small, but they are hard. They range from thing such as conquering my laziness and applying myself in school to learning to honor my mother and father.

Sometimes these little hard things and get overwhelming. Right now, I have two books to read for school by the end of the week. I also have a ton of Christmas presents to finish making. (And yet, I’m writing this. As you might be able to see, my time management skills could use a tune up!) What do we do when hard things seem to take over- and all of life is well, hard?

-Do we complain, grumble, or ask God why?

– Do we “suck it up” and keep on going; but still grumble on the inside?

– Do we bring glory to God by asking for His help through our daily hard things?

– Do we not get caught up in the day to day things, but instead look forward to future blessings the Lord may have for us, knowing that “he who is faithful in a little shall be give much?”

Obviously the last two are the biblical responses to have. Grumbling, complaining, and whining do not bring glory to God. As those living for the Lord (Something Greater!) we are called to put aside these fleshly impulses.

How do we do that? By relying on the Lord. By telling Him that we cannot accomplish on our own flesh the things on our to-do list. Ask Him for His mercy and His grace. Ask Him to help you each and every day, to do hard things without complaining. Oh what a lesson this is for me! I truly am speaking to my own heart. I rely on myself every day to get what I need to get done, instead of relying only on Him. Our to-do lists are not more important than our relationship with Christ. Put Him first and the cards will fall into place.

2 Responses to “Doing Hard Things- Natasha’s Way”

  1. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    Wow, what a great, convicting post Natasha!

  2. Anna Lofgren Says:

    Great post, Natasha! I understand about the other post – I’ve written things in desperation before too. Somehow a new day always seems to brighten my outlook. =)

    May we all continue to do hard things, great and small, for His glory.

Leave a Reply

