What Would You Do?

This past week I’ve noticed a trend in people I admire. There’s Christa Taylor, for instance. She has her own modest, trendy clothing line. There’s Anna Lofgren. She directs a talented group of young ballerina’s who’s motive is to glorify the Lord. Who could forget Alex and Brett Harris who are running a ministry that’s influencing many young people. I have a friend in real life, Emily, who plays piano, is in the choir, is a great artist, scrapbooks, goes to a private school, and has a high GPA.  There’s the countless young women and young men I read about who glorify God with their lives by running businesses, serving families, having blogs that have many readers, starting new things, etc. All these people are doing something with their youth beyond getting an education.

And I read about all these talented people and I think to myself, what do I do? I do my schoolwork. I do my chores, usually. I practice my piano. I spend too much time on the Internet. Basically, I spend my life doing things that most average teenagers do. I need to do hard things- and not only hard little things, like having a good attitude or reading a book. I need to have a vision for what I’d like to accomplish for the Lord and I need to work towards that.

So what would I like to accomplish for the Lord? What do I like doing? What am I good at? Hmmm.

In thinking about this, something obvious came to mind. I’d like to be a better writer and publish a book someday, or at least get this blog running more efficently. I try to write on this blog three times a week, but I don’t get there. I do write in my journals nearly every day- first in my prayer journal and than in my other journal. Writing is definitly something I’d like to become more accomplished at.

There’s Something Greater. Someday I’d love for this blog to be a useful resource for many people. I know the only way to accomplish that is to keep writing, keep networking, and keep on keeping on! This blog has been a blessing in my life and I am definitly thankful that the Lord has provided this outlet for my writing.

Than, there’s music. I would love to one day be able to teach piano, at least at a basic level. I’d also love to learn the violin, flute, harp, harmonica, and some sort of drum!! To start, I need to work on the piano. I’ve assigned myself two pieces to work on during my break from lessons (they start again the first week of February) and I want to discipine myself and learn them.

I also enjoy photography. I need to upload my pictures onto something like Flicker, as well as print my pictures out. I’m going to two weddings in the next few weeks so I need to be dilligent about pulling out the camera and taking pictures. And of course, there’s all the Christmas parties that I should take pictures of.

One of my unlikely dreams is to be a model for modest clothing. I model a lot for Bethany and sometimes for another friend of ours; and its something I really enjoy and am not half bad at. Maybe some day that dream will come true!

 I see from this post (which was mainly for my personal value) that I’m not disciplined. I’m currently a bit behind on school. I’m determined to get back on track by Christmas break so that I can start the new year fresh. I also need to catch up on Systematic Theology. I need to use my time on the computer more profitably, reading things that help me with my goals and also build me up in the Lord.

Now, I ask you. What visions and dreams do you have? What would you like to work towards in the future? What talents do you have that you can bring glory to God with? And what can you do today to start on that track?

2 Responses to “What Would You Do?”

  1. Anna Lofgren Says:

    I didn’t expect to see my name up there with the others! =) It’s a bit surprising to open a blog and see your name.

    Trust me, what you read online from our blogs is not an absolute picture of what our lives are like. Through God’s grace I’ve been able to do what I do, but I still get behind and have bad days. Spending too much time online is one of my weaknesses as well. I, too, am currently behind on school work, because of all the other things I’ve done.

    Cherish the time you have at home, the time you have studying. One thing I’ve had to realize while I want to do so much, cooking, cleaning, sewing, dancing, etc. is that this is the time God has given me to be a student, so I shouldn’t feel bad if I can’t get everything done. Certainly it’s good to do hard things, but one thing we’ve got to remember is that sometimes just day-to-day life can be the hard thing in our life for thi
    s season. Most “hard things” are just little things, but they’re still quite hard and worthwhile.

    Your dreams and visions sound good! Pursue them as God leads you! If you had asked me two years ago if I’d be teaching 35 students or directing a musical involving 49, I would have thought you were crazy! I didn’t even think I could teach dance… but slowly God lead and expanded my tremulous attempts. Don’t be afraid to do things that seem impossible! “With God all things are possible” – but you need to follow Him one step at a time.

    I really enjoy reading your blog, and trust me: you are making a difference! Thank you for being a light in this world.

    Sorry for writing such a lengthy reply. =) Just remember: no one is perfect. From anyone’s blog, they look amazing, but many times they struggle in many ways, big and small. Which reminds me – I need to get off the computer and go tackle the dishes. Then there’s my room that’s a mess with things all around from the musical… ;-)

  2. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    Thanks Anna- that’s very encouraging to me.

Leave a Reply

