The Focus of it All

Focus: concentration, determination, core, center, fix, attraction. These are just a few of many definitions and synonyms for the word focus. Today in our bakery, I would like to ask you this:

  1. What is your focus?
    -What do you spend your time doing and why?
    -Who do you spend your time with and why?
    -What grabs your attention?
  2. What, or rather, who should our focus always be on? God and the things of God!Colossians 3:1-4} Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.Hebrews 12:1-3} Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

 I daily strive and struggle to make Him my ultimate, complete focus. It is such a difficult task, one that is mostly unenjoyable. But at the end of the day as I lie in bed, thinking and praying and talking with God, I know that it will be worht it all. I know I can do all things throuhg His strength- afterall, the joy of the Lord is my strength. That is a verse I say to myself often as I face painful situations, heartache, and circumstances that hurt.

Just today I felt hurt by another person’s comment. It was nothing personal, nothing I should have even worried about. It was so silly and I knew it had little chance of being true, but the fact that it could be true was painful.. When I took a moment to get away from it all, the comforting thought that the joy of the Lord is my strength reset my focus upon Him and improved the remainder or my day. This is not normal for me- to remember things like that and find motivation to make an effort to be more like Him. But God was very gracious to me in that and I am so thankful to Him for that reason.

In the hardest, most painful moments of my day, I have a hope in Christ. Focusing on Him reminds me not to pity myself, to do things for attention, and to truly just imitate Him. Praise God!

Keep on Keeping On,

Bethany

One Response to “The Focus of it All”

  1. Jade S. Says:

    I love your post Bethany! I’ve been thinking about this lately too and found that my focus is alot of times divided, and your post was such an encouragement to me to focus fully on Him.

    A sister in Christ,
    Jade

Leave a Reply

