Oh, to Learn and Be Taught!

Being taught is a humbling thing. No, I don’t mean doing schoolwork or going to classes. Rather, I mean being instructed, corrected, and confronted graciously by God. He uses people, circumstances, writing, and His Word to change and purify our hearts.

Recently, I confronted someone. and let me tell you, it may have been the stupidest serious thing I have ever done. I was so proud in my course of action. I was so selfish and rude! When this person humbly and graciously and lovingly replied in a letter, I was immediately broken. It pains me to read this person’s word and remember those that I wrote. I’m so ahsamed of myself and my actions.

But as I’m writing this, I’m realizing that God has answered my prayers for humility and for refining by fire.

I’m only a teenager. I’m not a wise adult, a teacher, a Bible major, nothing. When it comes down to it, I am but dust. although I aspire to be like Him, to honor Him, I am only a baby. I have so far to go before I can even crawl!What a thought! It’s so humbling t remember that I am completely dependant on Him. I can do nothing on my own. He is so gracious to do all He does and chooses not to. God has forgiven all of my sin, all of my transgressions. Past, present, and future wrongs He has chosen to overlook and instead see the righteouness of Christ! While I an unrighteous, He declares me righteous. Wow.

Next time you’re confronted in whatever way, remember that is an act of love and of grace by God. He is so holy- it would be more just of Him to just declare my unrighteous and send me right on my way to Hell. After all, that is what I deserve. Yes, He is just. But He is merciful too! Confronting me about my sin is a merciful thing of Him to do.

I am learning. I am being taught. And despite the pain, I am thankful in the end because i know that somehow, He will be glorified.

Love to the Bakery Readers,

Bethany

Leave a Reply

