Worth, Pride, and Walking.

I’m convinced that we, as humans, were built with the desire to be valued, seen as worthy, loved, desired, and cherished. Each and everyday this desire burns in my own heart. I desire to be valued, to be seen as worthy, to be loved and desired and cherished as someone special. I struggle with this. I struggle to remember that the only one I should be desiring this from is God. I should be living for Him, my Something Greater, not for myself. I know that I am but dust. that’s why my flesh continually fights against it. I am so proud- I desire to be built up and looked highly upon. I’m so proud that I think I should be served, i should be spoken kindly to. Have I not realized that I deserve nothing?!

Last night I was once again reminded of this, of my pride. I realized that not only is being provoked by people and events in my life is not only sinful but prideful too. I have not been a good example for my sisters, let alone have I been a good sister period.

Ephesians 4:1-3
I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

Philippians 1:27-28
Only conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or remain absent, I will hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel; in no way alarmed by your opponents–which is a sign of destruction for them, but of salvation for you, and that too, from God.

Colossians 1:9-12
And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.  May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience  with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.

1 Thessalonians 2:10-12
You are witnesses, and God also, how holy and righteous and blameless was our conduct toward you believers. For you know how,like a father with his children, we exhorted each one of you and encouraged you and charged you to walk in a manner worthy of God, who calls you into his own kingdom and glory.

I need to walk in a manner worthy of God! Of the Gospel! When I look at a billboard or an ad in a magazine, the photos, text, and style help me to make a judgement about the product or company. If the ad is obviously inapporpriate or the product seems useless, I move on and I may be disgusted or annoyed. But if the ad is promotign something worthwhile or good, then I focus more on the ad, I might research it, I might buy it, like it, and endorse it. People do this with everything. If we are not walking worhty of the Gospel, of the calling which we have receieved, then the world is going to think we are all hypocrites.

Walking in a way that pleases Him is the most important thing we can do. In light of God, being valued and seen as worthy by the world is nothing because as His children, we are valued by Him, the King of Kings.

DISCLAIMER: I hope I didn’t confuse you with this post. There are rambling thoughts of mine. We should be walking worthy of Him so as not to be hypocrites and to show who God and what Christianity really is to those who may have misconceptions. We should not be tryign to please man or be valued through our actions. I know I may sound confusing, please forgive me. I can’t think of another way to explain my thoughts. And I am no better than any one who reads this. I’m writing this from my own experience and I struggle to make my walk match me talk every day of my life!

So let me put up a couple of questions for thought or discussion:

  1. Where have you seen pride in your life?
  2. Are you walking worthy of this calling? What needs to change?
  3. How are you going to change?
  4. What are you saying about God through your life?
  5. Is the way you’re living show your love for God?
  6. What are you living for?

In Christ Alone,

Bethany

One Response to “Worth, Pride, and Walking.”

  1. Jade S. Says:

    Amen! that was so well put:) Being prideful and wanting to be valued is something i struggle with all the time and your post was a woderful reminder that i should only desire to be valued by God! thanks Bethany!

    Sister in Christ, Jade

Leave a Reply

