Future Husbands

(I am posting this because 1. I do not believe it has been talked about much, and 2. It is on my heart heavily!)

Future husbands. What a beautiful, romantic, thrilling subject. I know their is nothing I would rather talk about at times! However, recently I have been asking myself some very nitty gritty questions, hard questions like “Is my future husband’s job a criteria (such as a calling to missions)” and “If I truly believe the Lord is bringing me a husband, and will provide for me always as He takes care of the birds of the field, should I go to college?”  and “easier” possibly silly ones such as “Is he the one?” (Oh how I dread that question!)

Several hours have been spent with my journal, Bible, and a handy little book called “Discovering God’s Will” by Sinclair Furgeson. (I highly recommend what I have read of this book so far.) The first question I tackled was actually two in one “Am I called to missions? And, should having a husband who wants to be a missionary in a foreign country be one of my “requirements?” I all ready know that going to the mission field as a single young woman is not in my future. (That is for a different post, I base much of my belief on that from the woman of the Bible and So Much More) But, I have had a heart for Uganda for a long time now. Their is a family from our church who run an orphanage in Uganda. With all my heart I would love to do that. But, the Lord has led me to some conclusions that cause me to believe I won’t be doing that.

The first conclusion is that it would be wrong for me to marry someone because of their career choice. In the Bible, did girls marry there husbands because they knew they would do things like part the Red Sea, or own a huge sheep farm, etc?! No. The husband loved them, they (apparently) loved him, and they lived happily ever after. While I do hope I am priveleged enough to get to love my husband (!), I don’t want his career to factor in to me loving him. What if he no longer felt the Lord was leading him to that? That could be a problem.

Thus, I believe that whatever the Lord is leading him too I am called to be his helpmeet too. That could be something like running a mechanic shop to developing a world wide ministry. Who knows? The Lord does!

“Should I go to college?” was the next question I tackled. Currently I have a “don’t plan on it” from the Lord. I have talked about it before on here, and may go deeper in the future, but it is a whole post in and of itself.

And….”Is he the one?” Welll…….I don’t know this one yet. You can all be praying I guard my heart like the Smithsonian guards diamonds! Let’s just say….”When I fall in love…it will be forever…” (I’ve been listening to Josh Groban for about two days straight. Anyone else think that guy has awesome talent?)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Future Husbands”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I also feel the need for someone to write about future husbands. The topic is so little written about. Again, thank you for addressing this subject, I hope you will write more on it.

Leave a Reply

