The Purity Ring

What girl doesn’t love jewelry? There seems to be a style for everyone, and a meaning and memory behind each peice. I, too, adore jewelry. They compliment every outfit in special ways. But there is one peice that will stay with me for a long time to come, and it’s meaning it more cherished, more important, more wonderful than any other article. It is my purity ring.

My purity ring is so precious to me. It often reminds me of my committment by God’s grace to save myself emotionally, spiritually, physically, and mentally for the man who will one day be my husband. It reminds me of my love for him! It also signifies my committment to love and serve God no matter what season I’m in, whether it be singleness, courtship, engagement, or marriage.

Which finger do you wear it on? Does it matter? I personally wear it on my fourth finger on my left hand to save the spot for the shining diamond ring that will one day take hold there. And actually, it doesn’t matter at all where it lies or even if you wear one at all. All that matters is where your heart is.

Where will your purity ring go when you get engaged? Married? When I get engaged, I’m planning on putting my purity ring on my right ring finger until I get married. I’ve mulled over several ideas of what to do with my ring when I get married- perhaps I’ll give it to my Mr. Darcy to save for the daughter that Lord willing we would have someday. Perhaps I’ll give it to one of my sisters if they don’t have one and have made the same committment. Or perhaps I’ll just save it.

I can’t afford an expensive ring… What do I do?! Mine wasn’t very expensive. I don’t think the cost exceeded $15. I had a gift certificate for a sterling silver ring discount from a teen issues class I once took, so that helped with the expense. The rest, my mom bought. Many fathers give their daughters purity rings, as do many mothers and other special people in girls’ lives. But it’s perfectly alright to buy your own! Look online for styles you like, and don’t be afraid to go to a jewelry store an look around at the less expensive rings. Don’t worry about gems either! Mine is simple and goes with any outfit- it’s sterling silver with a heart cut out of the center (More on that later). If you like gems and can afford it- by all means, go ahead. Pick the ring you like best.

Is there anything special about your ring? When I was in seventh grade, I had to take a teen issues class where many topics were covered, including abstinence. For one or two days, a couple people from an abstince program came to talk to us. We listened and did silly worksheets with statistics and charts and facts. I had already planned to abstain until marriage, but nothing else than that. At the end of the teaching time, they gave us a gift certificate for a local jewelry store and a cheap little ring. I ended up wearing that ring for a week or so, but you know the kind- it’s the kind that leaves green marks on your skin and bends and breaks too easily. I saved the certificate and looked at it often. A little while later, I actually made a committment to God to save all that I have for my future husband! As I began to make changes in my life, I realized that a purity ring would be a great reminder to me and a good way to spread the Gospel and the message about purity. So finally, I purchased using that certificate. It took me awhile, but I finally found The Ring. Like I mentioned before, it’s sterling silver with a heart cut out of the center. I like to think that God has the heart that’s cut out and will someday give it to the man who I’ll marry.

When it all comes down to it, a ring is just a material possesion. True purity is found in purity of the heart.

2 Responses to “The Purity Ring”

  1. Anna Lofgren Says:

    I enjoyed hearing about your purity ring! Praise God for all the young women who are making commitments to purity!

  2. Anna Joy Says:

    I really liked this post!! I found your blog on Maiden’s of Worth and I added it to my favorites. :):) Check out my blog if you get a chance….www.thetruitttimes.blogspot.com I’d love to hear from you!!!

Leave a Reply

