Is Your God Big Enough?

Stay-at-home daughters. You rarely ever hear that term used. Stay-at-home mother, perhaps, but never a daughter!

When Anna Sofia and Elizabeth Botkin published their book, So Much More, they raised not only a controversy, but a new definition of Biblical womanhood. This definition entails but is not confined to: staying at home with one’s parent’s until marriage, learning how to be a helpmeet o a husband by serving her father alongside her mother, and not attending college.

As I have read reviews and discussions of the book (I have also read the book myself in recent months), I have discovered that many do not think that God could provide the money or means for a young woman to live at home, or that she will not be educated enough about the world, in she will never be able to support herself. But…

My God is big enough to provide for me the means and the the money to stay at home. It may seem like a strain on them at times, but in reality, college would cost so much more than that. My God is big enough that I don’t give up on Him the moment I think, “Hm, my parents can’t afford it. Oh well, whoop-dee-doooo!” He is big enough to provide the money and means in the most unlikely ways. My father has been supporting me and my sisters for our entire lives. Why would staying-at-home be any different? I know every young lady’s situation is diverse. By helping to care for my sisters, taking up some of the chores and errands for the family, and making my parent’s load lighter, money is actually being saved. My God is big enough that, if my parents completely rejected this concept or turned away from Christ, He would provide for me all that He knows I need. He is that big.

My God is big enough that I will be educated very well about the world that surrounds me. By reading the books and articles that are now so readily avaiable to us through public libraries, the Internet, magazines, and most importantly, God’s holy and perfect Word. After all, does the Bible not say in 2 Timothy 3 verses 15 and 16 that “all Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that  the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” From God’s Word we can learn what is good and what is evil; what is right and that which is wrong. By comparing the teachings of the world and the church with Scripture, we are able to discern what pleases God. My God is so big that His Word gives me all the direction I’ll ever need. He is that big.

 My God is so big that if my husband were to die, become too ill or injured to work, or to leave me, He would provide the means, money, and support for my family to survive. God alone knows what I need, and He will provide it because He is sovereign. If He chooses not to, then that is His will and He is so holy and mighty and righteous that I honestly do not to question Him. I am not that big!

My point is, is that being a stay-at-home daughter not only is Biblical, but plenty practical and realistic, no matter what kind of living situation you may be in. My God is big enough. Is yours?

DISCLAIMER: 1. By saying “My God is big enough. Is yours?”, I am not refering to a seperate god or making an idol of Him. Actually, it is the opposite. Seeing God as big enough to provide for His children, that is having a higher veiw of Him which we need! It is apart of fearing Him and loving Him. 2. My veiws may not be the same as Natasha’s or the Botkins.

~~Bethany

One Response to “Is Your God Big Enough?”

  1. brenda Says:

    One of my favorite verses that popped into my head while reading this post is Ephesians 3:20-21.

    We can “imagine” all sorts of scenarios that MIGHT happen in our life. But God is able to do IMMEASURABLY MORE. He is that big!

Leave a Reply

