To Stay at Home….

I’ve been thinking much lately on being a stay at home daughter. Many questions come to my mind- from “Will Mommy and Daddy even let me do this?” to “What am I going to do?” to “Is the entire world going to think I am crazy?!”So, on Tuesday I spent some time compiling a list entitled “Things to Do at Home”. I decided to share it with our (few, I admit!) readers:

-Cook meals for the family.

-Cook meals for elderly and sick people. (Check into if your church has a program for this, ours does.)

– Help with cleaning

-Babysit- I generally charge my neighbors and anyone who offers to pay, but offer to do it for free to other believers (especially those with many kids!)

– Keep room clean, organized, and welcoming for her friends and family.

-Do extra baking of treats that mom does not have time to do. (Fun!)

-Pursue studies of history, theology, and virtually any other subject.

-Learn arts that beautify and bless others: gardening, painting, sewing, embroidery, knitting, drawing, and calligraphy are just a few.

-Start a home business. (I encourage reading some of Crystal Paine’s e-books on this, found at www.biblicalwomanhood.com)

-Be in charge of the family scrapbooking.

-Be available to be “loaned” to other families for long term “mothers helpering” and housekeeping.

-Read good books.

– Write notes to those who need encouragment.

– Help father with any tasks daughter is capable of. (Bookkeeping, computer graphics, editing, etc.)

– Learn to play a musical instrument.

– Teach younger girls the skills that you have accomplished.

– Help mother with coupon cutting and grocery shopping. (When I can drive, I’m looking forward to this.)

– Participate in any family ministries.

– Be in charge of part of or all of homeschooling siblings.

I’ll be writing more on this topic in the near future, so look forward to that.

Those are just a few of the ideas that I know are possible, but let me open it up.

What activities do you do/think would be a good thing for stay at home daughters to do?

AND, do you have any questions about being a stay at home daughter that you’d like to see addressed?

-Natasha

One Response to “To Stay at Home….”

  1. Anna Lofgren Says:

    I wrote a list like this a while ago. There’s a wealth of things that can be done! Right now, I don’t know whether or not I’ll be able to stay home, though that is my heart’s desire. All my other siblings have gone to college and would like me to go… My parents are fine either way.

Leave a Reply

