For the Love of Books

Ah, how I love to read!

I first got hooked on reading when I was in second grade. I checked out a 150 page book on this boy named Sam, I think. Ever since, I have read many, many books and loved it! I would read at night after my parents tucked us in. The lights would be off, but the door was left open, so I used the hall light. Needless to say, my vision decreased quickly and I got glasses in the beginning of my second grade year.

Now, I am not a completely committed reader. The beginning of the book has to grab me. Otherwise, I conclude that it is boring and continue on to the other 10 that I checked out from the library. But when I do find a good book, you can find me reading it whenever I can.

I recently traveled to Washington, D.C., back in April. While we were there, we went to the Library of Congress. I remember my heart pounding as I approached it- it was so big. Little did I know that there were 2 other buildings, just as big, and tunnels connected them together. As I walked out of the security area, I was overwhelmed with the beauty of the walls, the stairs, the ceiling, the floors, the hand rails… it was incredible. Unfortunately, I found out that the books, well, shall we say, were unavailable to me, and most were underground! I would have loved to have smelled the fresh, sweet scent of the books. But I did end up buying a Book Lover’s Journal (with room to write thoughts, quotes, recommended by, title, author, and number of pages!!).

There is so much to be learned from books. One can learn the proprieties of English if one reads enough! One can learn about the past, the present, and the hopes of the future. One can learn oh so much. I desire to.

Turn off the TV, leave the computer, and grab a book, some coca, and sit down and read.

2 Responses to “For the Love of Books”

  1. cbrunette Says:

    The Library of Congress is awe-inspiring, isn’t it? I am proud of that civic work of art and hallowed halls to learning.

    What are you reading at the moment?

    ~Anna

  2. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    Oh yes, the Library of Congress….. Goodness, it was the most beautiful building I’ve ever seen!

    Well, I’m not reading any novels right now, but am about to begin on a compliation of Jane Austen’s works this summer: Sense & Sensibility, Pride & Prejudice, the whole enchilada. I’m also reading some Christian literature: The Cross Centered Life by C.J. Mahaney, Changed Into His Image by Jim Berg, and When God Writes Your Life Story by Eric and Leslie Ludy.

    You?

    – Bethany

Leave a Reply

