The Feminine Life- Part One

What is femininity on a day to day basis? Am I expected to wear a beautiful dress everyday? Does my hair always have to look perfect?

Femininity, at first glance, does not seem very practical! And yes, sometimes it is not. For instance, most people find it quite simple to throw on some gym shorts and a t-shirt, and go through there day like that. I do not want to judge them- but I want to look like the women I am as much as I possibly can. No, its not easy. However, life is not easy! To glorify God we have to do hard things (www.therebelution.com) Femininity is not an easy thing, I’ll admit. Their are a few things I’ve come across that make it hard, and the first is “what will others think?”

We all know we aren’t supposed to fear others, we are supposed to fear God. But one of the easiest areas the fear of man creaps into is in our dress. Go to the store and look around you- what is everyone wearing? Whether it is feminine or not, it probably looks like everyone else. This in itself is not a problem, but I realized a few months ago that I am absolutly controlled by what everyone else is wearing! If we are going to a park, and most people will be wearing jeans or shorts, I used to be right along with them.

But then I realized something. Thats boring. It can be unfeminine. And if it causes me to obsess about my wardrobe, or dress unmodestly or unfemininly, then it is sin. And I realized that I needed to do something about that. It is still a struggle to get out of bed on Sunday morning and put on what I want to wear- a hat, a shawl, a long dress, and I still worry about what everyone else will think. I do it anyway. And then, *surprise* I get to church and get compliments! No one thinks I’ve absolutly lost my mind, or at least, if they do, no one says! Yes, I know, its surprising.

 So, when you put on your feminine outfit I have two suggestions. One is from Beth’s English teacher- Don’t think, Just do. Just get dressed, and move on. Don’t sit around worrying. My second suggestion, is if you must think, think about the worst that could happen. What could happen? You look a little different for four hours, or all day. So? Do you see my point? Okay, someone could tell you that you look wierd. That has happened to me, and it hurts a bit. But generally the someone who tells me is not someone who is skilled in femininity. As you can (hopefully) see, we can not fear man.

I hope this has encouraged you to dress and act femininly! Next time I plan on bringing up another problem I have faced in the area of feminine dress.

Soli Deo Gloria,

Natasha

2 Responses to “The Feminine Life- Part One”

  1. Annamarie Says:

    Oh Natasha, I know about the surprising comments! Here are a couple I received when I wore a cape dress and cap to church at Easter:

    “You look cute in everything you wear!”

    “I don’t care what you wear, as long as you have clothing on…” (That was from the Assistant Pastor, guess you had to hear it in context.)

    ~Anna

  2. Krys Says:

    This is such a good website! I’ll definately be watching it, it makes me feel like being (and dressing like) a lady. Thanks again for setting a different and higher standard!

Leave a Reply

