Writers’ Block Isn’t the End

432276_47063015.jpgI am comfortably sitting on my faithful purple chair, wearing my PJ’s. It has served me a great deal of years and has not yet betrayed me.  I do not know what I would do without it. However, this is not the subject of our coming conversation.

Writers’ block is. When I decided to write a post today, I couldn’t think of a single thing to write about. I felt quite compelled to write something meaningful, not just about how I actually have nothing to say. But then I realized that I do.

Writers’ block is something we all face- be it in our English class or studies, emailing or IMing a friend, or worst of all, in prayer. Writers’ block in prayer is it’s worst form- a little bit like Satan is trying to stop us from growing nearer to God. Our hearts and souls know exactly what they feel, but our minds cannot articulate these feelings, these thoughts, these ideas into words.  I have faced this frustration in the times I am writing in prayer journal, subconsciously fearing that if I do not word what I mean correctly, God will not understand me.

But in reality, I had it all wrong. Thinking that God, the Lord of everything, could not understand something which He created, is totally bizarre. On the contrary, because God created you and me, He understands us better than anyone else.

Romans 8:26 expresses it this way: In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.

What a wonderful thing to know! Even when we are unable to understand ourselves, God does. He knows that we feel pain, hurt, confusion, joy, happiness, jealousy, anger, and love. Even when we do not know it, He does. I cannot begin to fully comprehend what an awesome comfort this is. Praise God for this gift, and the realization of it.

But why can’t we understand our own hearts? What if blocking us and confusing us and frustrating us? Perhaps too, the answer is in His Word:

Jeremiah 17:9
The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

I believe that we cannot understand our hearts because they are wicked and deceitful. We are sinners, mere humans, and in comparison to the Lord God Almighty, we are worthless. But don’t let this discourage you, because God knew this.

He knew how wicked we are as sinners. He knew of our depravity and because He loved His children, He sent His only Son to die on Calvary. He took our place, our punishment because of how much He loved us.  He values His children and cares for them deeply. He sees us as precious. He even took the time to carefully form and create us in our mother’s womb. God, in His awesome holiness, created each of us uniquely. What grace!

So, in short, do not fret because you do not know what to say, because God does.

–Bethany

Leave a Reply

