Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed: Thoughts






Originally uploaded by Bethany Mae Photography

Note: Much of this post was origionally posted on TheRebelution.com forums.

I really enjoyed this movie. I learned a lot and was challenged to stand up for what I know is true.

Sadly, I don’t think this movie/project will have much effect. I do think that it will spark the thoughts of many people. It may cause some to fight for more fairness in the classroom and textbooks. It may cause a few teachers to give a fairer discussion in the classroom.

On my first day or two of junior high, my science teacher (who I later learned was a Christian!) explained to each class what a theory was. He told us that a theory is not a hardcore, proven fact, especially when it comes to evolution. He had each of us write down our thoughts about how earth came into existence on a note card and give it to him at the end of class. The next year of junior high, I was not so blessed. Though I was much firmer in my faith and beliefs, I soon realized my teacher was an evolutionist who did not give room to any other theory, at least in the classroom. The mere idea of Creation wasn’t even mentioned. I heard a lot of figures such as, “2 billion years ago…” and “it would take 156 million years to…”

Looking back, I can see a huge difference between these two teachers. The first, although prohibited from stating his personal beliefs and sharing what he knew to be true, he made sure that we all knew what he would be teaching would be a lot of theories, not facts. The second teacher didn’t give a thought to evolution as theory. The students who were never taught the truth will likely always think that the earth evolved and was not created. When I visited the Natural History Museum in Washington, D.C., I was shocked to find that my Mormon friend didn’t know too much about the subject when I told her that some different things weren’t true. I’m not for creation or religion being taught in secular classes. I’ve seen it first hand, and it is not a pretty sight to see. I am for equal fairness of ideas being suggested. In my humble opinion, evolution should not be seen as near truth or truth at all in the classroom. There is so very much weight placed on it in most public schools (I attended them for 9 years) that next to no weight is placed on any other theory. That doesn’t seem fair to me.

We can fight to change things. While yes, not much may change, we don’t know that for sure, and the least we can do is inform people with the facts and share the Gospel.

My one negative thing was that it seemed like Mr. Stein would be speaking about the point of the movie, but right at the end he’d always miss the mark which would have been made by a strong Christian: that Creation is what truly happened (Don’t believe me? Check out Genesis! : D). However, this was made by a man who is not a Christian (Ben Stein is Jewish) so it was inevitable. Tying up those loose ends would have been great, but overall this was a very well made, very informative movie.

Let me know if there’s anything I can clarify to make more sense.

What were your thoughts?

4 Responses to “Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed: Thoughts”

  1. dracil Says:

    The only reason there is so much “weight” put on evolution is because there is so much pressure against it by Creationists. You know, for every force, there is an equal and opposite force. ;)

    That’s because way too many Christians feel threatened by it for no good reason.

    Creation is certainly compatible with evolution. But Creationism is not science. Anything that invokes the supernatural by definition is not science. That’s why it’s not mentioned in science class. You go to philosophy or religious studies for that. It’s the same reason you learn math in Math class and English in English class.

    But you’re right, we shouldn’t treat the theory of gravity or the atomic theory or germ theory as truths. Because they aren’t. They’re theories too. Who knows, it may be that “gravity” is really God pushing everything down personally with his own thumb! You can’t disprove that! Should we teach that in science class?

    As far as fighting for change in evolution. Those of us who accept evolution as the current best *scientific* model for explaining the diversity of species out there (and a very significant portion of us believe in God too) have been welcoming you Creationists to be the change you want to be for years.

    Do some science (that means no “goddidit” or anything that requires untestable supernatural explanations). Get it peer reviewed. Get it published. Get a Nobel prize for finally showing the world that the theory of evolution is a flawed model and that you have a better model that not only explains all the previous data we have, but explains the flaw that the theory of evolution could not explain, and can continue making falsifiable predictions about future data.

    We’ve been waiting for 150 years and we’re still waiting. Show us how we are wrong through science, not through lawyers or politicians or public relations and media. Will you, Bethany Mae, step up and be the change you seek? :)

  2. somethinggreaterblog Says:

    Thank you for your comment– I appreciate the time and thought that you put into it.

    I may not be able to prove that God did create the earth and everythign else, which I know He did. But I believe I can prove that evolution in any form is false.

    And, by the way, perhaps someday I’ll take you up on that challenge to be the chance in evolution. Just perhaps. :)

  3. dracil Says:

    If you can prove evolution is false, you should go publish a paper right now! There’s a Nobel prize waiting for you. :D (I’m not actually kidding either, if you can actually do something like that, it WOULD get you a Nobel prize)

  4. Erik John Bertel Says:

    Science has proof without any certainty. Creationists have certainty without any proof.
    -Ashley Montagu (1905 – 1999), Author of Man’s Most Dangerous Myth: The Fallacy of Race’.

    I believe that you can be a Christian and a Darwinist, too. To me, one is science and the other is faith and they each have their place in life, one in a class room, the other in a church. If ID is truly a valid scientific theory then win the debate within the scientific journals through peer review not in the court of public opinion (and please don’t give me that nonsense that the ID proponents lost their jobs, that was basically a Michael Moore liberty if I ever saw one.) This is how science advances and why should the mechanism change just because proponents of ID have lost the debate years ago?

    This is not about free speech, this is about science. To date, the arguments of irreducible complexity are not enough to allow ID to stand as a valid scientific theory. And even if it was what can you do with it as theory? What predictive models will come from ID other than to ask us to marvel at god’s handiwork?

    Here’s a quote from my http://www.millenniumwriting.com site that Jason provided from St. Augustine:

    “For then, to defend their utterly foolish and obviously untrue statements, they will try to call upon Holy Scripture for proof and even recite from memory many passages which they think support their position, although they understand neither what they say nor the things about which they make assertion. [1 Timothy 1.7]“

    Erik John Bertel
    Author of Flores Girl: The Children God Forgot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

